Back to News Christian named Indigenous Captain

Christian named Indigenous Captain

Dan Christian was today named the Men's National Indigenous Captain as part of Cricket Australia's celebration of NAIDOC* Week.

In being named captain, Christian's name will be engraved on the honour board in the foyer of the Bupa National Cricket Centre alongside the likes of Meg Lanning and Steve Smith.

Also announced were the extended male and female Indigenous squads for their upcoming high performance camps in preparation for next year's tour of the United Kingdom.

Christian will lead fellow Victorian Ben Abbatangelo, who recently captained Victoria to their first National Indigenous Cricket Championships (NICC) title in February, as well as Damon Egan and brothers Nick and Scott Boland.

Nick was also part of the triumphant Victorian NICC side in February, taking three crucial wickets in the Grand Final win, while Scott took 29 wickets in another successful Sheffield Shield season for the Bushrangers.

It's believed to be the first time that both Nick and Scott Boland could play together in a competitive cricket match.

The Women's Indigenous squad also features a strong lineup of Victorians - Jacinda Goodger-Chandler, Merinda Hale, Molly Ward and Natalie Plane.

This is a proud moment for the four young women who have been members of Cricket Victoria's Indigenous Cricket Development Program - Noogal Toengorrt Tani** - for over five years.

Plane was named the Melbourne Stars Community Rookie for the inaugural season of the Women's Big Bash League (WBBL) before earning a contract with the Melbourne Renegades for WBBL|02.

Co-chair of the Victorian Aboriginal Cricket Advisory Committee (VIC ACAC) Belinda Duarte said:

"The nine Victorian representatives of the National Indigenous squads represent different Aboriginal communities from all over Australia.

"As Victorians and members of the Noogal Toengorrt Tani family, it is only fitting to celebrate the achievements of these accomplished cricketers during NAIDCO Week."

The men's squad will play a series of matches in late August against a Queensland XI, Papua New Guinea and the National Performance Squad, while the women's squad will take part in a high-performance camp from 5-11 August at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane.


2017 National Indigenous Squad (Men)

Dan Christian (Captain) - VIC

Alex Melville - QLD

Ben Abbatangelo - VIC

Brendan Smith - NSW

Brendan Doggett - QLD

Cameron Trask - QLD

Damon Egan - VIC

Dane Ugle - WA

D'Arcy Short - WA

Jonte Pattison - NSW

Joshua Lalor - NSW

Liam Ward - TAS

Nathan Price - NSW

Nick Boland - VIC

Rhys Ward - TAS

Ryan Lees - TAS

Sam Doggett - QLD

Scott Boland - VIC

Zac Chapman - NT


2017 National Indigenous Squad (Women)

Ashleigh Gardner (Captain) - NSW

Carly Fuller - QLD

Christina Coulson - QLD

Clodagh Ryall - QLD

Emily Martin (Bowden) - WA

Emma Manix-Geeves - TAS

Hannah Darlington - NSW

Haylee Hoffmeister - NSW

Jacinda Goodger-Chandler - VIC

Jemma Astley - NSW

Kavita Pepper - WA

Maddison Greenhalgh - NSW

Merinda Hale - VIC

Molly Ward - VIC

Natalie Plane - VIC

Roxanne Van-Veen - NSW

Sally Moylan - NT

Samara Williams - WA

Sara Darney - NSW

Zoe Fleming - NSW

*NAIDOC stands for National Aborigines and Islanders Day Observance Committee.

**Noogal Toengorrt Tani is the name of Cricket Victoria's Indigenous Cricket Development program meaning belong, success/win in Woirwurrung. The program was named by Senior Wurundjeri Elder, Aunty Joy Wandin Murphy.

Proudly Supported By