Back to News NCIC champions crowned in Geelong

NCIC champions crowned in Geelong

South Australia will depart Geelong as champions of both the intellectual disability and deaf and hard of hearing divisions of the National Cricket Inclusion Championships after a hugely successful final day in Geelong. 

New South Wales also claimed their first blind and vision impaired title in more than 30 years with victory over hosts Victoria.

The day began with South Australia and the undefeated Queensland playing off in the Grand Final for cricketers with an Intellectual Disability.

Queensland won the toss and elected to bowl on a pitch that looked as though it would offer a little pace and movement early.

Opening the batting for South Australia, Dale Fielke (0) and Beau Chisholm (0) fell without registering a score, and the decision to bowl by Queensland looked a masterstroke. South Australian skipper Chris McQueen was defiant in his batting innings, smashing 83 runs from 59 deliveries to get his side back on track and to a respectable total.

On a ground with large boundaries both straight and square, McQueen and Scot May (21) combined for a 73 run partnership in a grand display of hard running between the wickets.

With ball in hand, Jason Richardson bowled consistently for Queensland with the figures of 2/8 (4) including two exceptional maiden overs. Thanks to hard running from McQueen and May, South Australia made their way to 3/122 (20).

In the Queensland run chase, South Australia achieved the early breakthrough that they were after, as Luke Goodman dismissed the in form Haydn Brumm for 9. Fresh off 98* in the semifinal, Brendan Westlake then joined his Captain in David Baird at the crease.

The pair worked themselves in nicely, however, Baird was run out for 19 (32) and Westlake (22) was bowled by a swinging delivery in a fiery spell from South Australian quick Luke Goodman.

The pressure was then mounted back on the Queensland middle order, who struggled to keep up with the required run rate. In a remarkable spell, Luke Goodman (3/11) did the damage with the ball for South Australia, bowling two maidens and taking three crucial wickets, including that of Haydn Brumm.

With a lack of batsmen to come, Queensland were bowled out for 98 on the second last ball of their innings, resulting in South Australia's first ever NCIC ID Title.

New South Wales have claimed the blind and vision impaired title after a hard fought three run victory over Victoria. The win meant that New South Wales went through the entire competition undefeated.

Winning the toss, Victoria sent New South Wales into bat with Lindsay Heaven and Nathan Leets to open for the boys in blue. Leets (4) was run out in a grand fielding effort thanks to Steve Obeid, but with this wicket, the in-form Shaun Fitzpatrick joined Skipper Heaven at the crease.

With both Heaven and Fitzpatrick being in the top ten leading run scorers for the 2018 competition, Victoria would require another early breakthrough to minimise damage.

Following a solid 27 (26), Fitzpatrick unfortunately had to retire hurt, however the New South Wales captain was then joined at the crease by Matthew Cameron. Heaven was defiant, but fell LBW to Victorian quick Daniel Pritchard on 81 (61). Cameron (29*) and Lachlan Anag (19*) guided New South Wales to a competitive 2/188 from their twenty overs.

Opening the batting for Victoria, Brett Wilson (22) was the first to fall, victim of a tremendous out swinging delivery bowled by none other than Lindsay Heaven. Despite Chris Ballie being run out cheaply, Ned Brewer Maiga led the way for Victoria, making his way to 62 (52) before having to retire hurt.

Steve Obeid (50*) and Daniel Pritchard (21) occupied the crease for a long period of time however, Heaven reversed ledger from the first innings claiming the key wicket of Pritchard with a great catch from Oscar Stubbs in the deep.

Come the last over, Victoria would require a further 17 runs to win the game. But the man of the moment Lindsay Heaven kept cool under pressure, bowling the final over to restrict the Victorians to 4/185 (20). Heaven finishing with the best figures for his side (2/34).

South Australia's deaf and hard of hearing team completed a remarkable turnaround from their previous encounter with Victoria on Wednesday that saw them all out for just 34, to put in a performance for the ages and win by a comfortable six wickets with 10 balls to spare.

South Australia won the toss and sent Victoria in to bat and quickly had them on the back foot at 4/34. Victoria's Blake Pendlebury (33) then mounted a mini revival before a mix up saw him run out.

Pendlebury's departure signaled another collapse that resulted in Victoria being bowled out for 109 on the last ball of their allocated overs. Three wickets each to Gavin Conner (3/10) and Justin Millard (3/4) the key for South Australia.

In reply South Australia's Luke Trudgett made his intentions clear from the outset, finding boundaries at will. In the end he amassed 44 (29) runs that included 9 fours, to bat his side into a winning position at 1-68 off 10 overs.

However, when Zac King trapped Trudgett LBW with a ball that swung in late, it once again gave Victoria a sniff. An over later the ever-reliable Adam Wood also found himself back in the sheds, dismissed LBW from a peach of a delivery from Tony Barulovski. However that's where it ended for Victoria as Justin Millard (20*) and Gavin Conner (7*) kept their cool under pressure and guided South Australia to victory.

Proudly Supported By