Back to News NICL Wrap: 18 August

NICL Wrap: 18 August

Northcote Knights are the inaugural Victoria West Zone Champions after a nail-biting three run victory over Hoppers Crossing Hurricanes in Friday evenings Grand Final.

Batting first, Hoppers Crossing started positively with a 30-run opening pair stand between Brayden Koch and Stephen Williams. The following three pairs for the Hurricanes also provided solid contributions which gave Hoppers Crossing a total of 77. Northcote found wickets hard to come across the innings, with Aaron Amos the only multiple wicket taker for the Knights.

In reply, Northcote flew out of the blocks as Jarrod Burns and Sean Neary took 35 from the first four overs. This was followed up by Aaron Amos and Alex Jesensek who took the Knights to 58 at the halfway mark and in complete control.

Two run-outs in the ninth over swung the game momentarily back towards the Hurricanes - yet after 12 overs the Knights still only required 4 runs to win from the final 4 overs.

Hoppers Crossing, however, threw everything at the Knights, taking 3 wickets in the final three overs to keep the Knights in check. Still, they were unable to take a wicket on the final ball to steal an unlikely victory.

Northcote will join Croydon Raiders and Frankston Sharks as the Victorian Men's representative teams for the NICL Finals, while Springvale Scorpions and the Kings will be the Victorian Women's representatives when the finals commence on September 1-3 at Springvale Indoor Sports.


NICL Finals Series Pools:


Kings (VIC)

Mid North Coast Mavericks (NSW)

Springvale Scorpions (VIC)

Stepney United (SA)

Striker Leeming Mustangs (WA)

Wynnum Seagulls (SE QLD)


Mens - Pool A 

Wolves (ACT)

Newcastle Steel (NSW Country)

Northcote Knights (VIC)

Seamer Snakes (WA)

Toowoomba Dragons (SE QLD)

Croydon Raiders (VIC)


Mens - Pool B

Morphett Vale Sharks (SA)

Frankston Sharks (VIC)

Townsville Wildcatz (Nth QLD)

Macarthur Raptors (NSW Metro)

Wynnum Seagulls (SE QLD)

Huon & Channel (TAS)


For full fixtures, news, results and match replays of all live-streamed matches head to or subscribe to the @CricketAusIndoor Facebook page.

Article image courtesy of Chloe IP.

Proudly Supported By