Back to News Under-19 Academy Country and Metro trial squads named

Over 70 young Victorians have been selected to take part in the Under-19 Academy Country and Metro trial squads for the 2017-18 season.

Players will participate in skills, strength and conditioning and performance management sessions through August and September as part of the trial process, before the Barooga Country v Metro series provides another opportunity for players to showcase their skills.

The Barooga camp in late September will form a key part of the selection, as well as club cricket performances, before selectors name the final squads in late October for the Cricket Australia Under-19 National Championships. 

This year's squads feature a breadth of young talent, with the likes of Victoria Metro squad members Zak Evans, Jon Merlo and Will Sutherland who all represented the Australia Under-19s against Sri Lanka Under-19s in April this year.

Strong performances this year could fetch greater rewards too, as players will also be vying for a spot in the Australian squad for the Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand in 2018.

This year's Under-19 National Championships will take place in Tasmania between 4-15 December.


Victoria Country Under-19 Trial Squad


Barown Rockets

Ezrah Robertson

Lleyton Thulborn


Central Highlands

Tom Rogers

Jack Lalor

Matt Milne

Patrick Graham

Roby Lane

Darby Semmens

Sam McCaskill

Zac Jenkins


Gippsland Pride

Sean Masterson

Wilson McGillivray

Joel Mitchell

Koby Brann

Kim Drew


Mallee Murray Bulls

Campbell Vadlja

Josh Carmichael

Josh Wooding


North East Country Knights

Wade King

Fraser Ellis

Bradley Melville


Northern Rivers

Jack Bouwmeester

Cade Mueller

Josh Larkin

Andrew Poppa

James Ryan


South East Country Sharks

Thomas Ewing

Matthew Foy

Max Cairns

Luke Grandy

Rohan Simpson

Sam Sturt


Western Waves

Lachie Wareham

Sydney Ray

Sam Younghusband

Brody Couch

Jacob Hetherington


Victoria Metro Under-19 Trial Squad


Inner East Emus

Nathan Boucher

Charlie Simondson

Jon Merlo

Andrew Young

Sam Milne

James Boyce

Elliott Brandon-Jones

Noah Croes

Zak Evans

Sam Elliott


Inner South East Scorpions

Matthew Wilson

Will Sutherland


North West Wizards

Kevin Spaull

Zac Mevisson

Patrick Willach

Jordan Buckingham

Ryan Stingel


Northern Falcons

Tate Volitakis

Michael Edwards

Arky Cheema

Bailey Eustance

Conner Rutland


Outer East Eagles

Mitch Perry

Daniel Scholz

Josh Hartill

Sam Beer


Southern Pioneers

Matt Wetering

Andrey Fernando

Austin Heldt


South East Bayside Breakers

Blake Parsons

Edward Newman

Shubham Bhargave

Hugo Ferdinand

Lachlan MacQuorquodale

Nick Lloyd

Nathan Murphy


Western Spirit

Jordan Kight

Ben Roosenboom

Lucien Bienvenu

Proudly Supported By