Back to News Victoria ready for National Indigenous Cricket Championships

Victoria ready for National Indigenous Cricket Championships

The Men's Victorian Indigenous Squad will begin their National Indigenous Cricket Championships campaign (NICC) today in Alice Springs against Western Australia, with the women's team set to launch their campaign on February 9 against New South Wales.

Staged from February 5 to 13, the men's team enters this year's NICC with a slightly different feel to last year's squad with two debutants, Nicholas Boland and Ashley Sweet.

Boland is the brother of Victorian and Melbourne Stars' fast bowler Scott Boland. Similar to his brother's looks and bowling style, Boland will look to open the bowling for the Victorians.

Melton Cricket Club's Sweet will fill the important role of all-rounder.

The men's team will also be bolstered by the return of Captain Ben Abbatangelo, who missed the entirety of last year's NICC due to injury.

Coached by former Australian test and One Day International opening batsman Julien Weiner, they will play six games in six days comprising of three 50-over games and three Twenty20 games.

Arriving in Alice Springs on February 8, the Women's Victorian Indigenous Squad will play four T20 games in three days.

Tasmanians Cara Watkins and wicketkeeper Tayla Wigg will don the Victorian colours for the first time.

The squad will unfortunately be without Melbourne Renegades' all-rounder Natalie Plane, who is playing for Carlton in the AFL Women's competition.

Keith Janz returns as coach and Jess Martin will captain the side.

Cricket fans will be able to watch every game via a livestream on the NICC website.

Both finals will take place on February 13 and can be enjoyed via a livestream on

For more information about the National Indigenous Cricket Championships please check out the NICC website


Ben Abbatangelo (C)
Nicholas Boland
Tom Collett
Nathan Fowler
Alex Kerr
Nathan Gardiner
Ashley Sweet
Connor Jackson
Patrick Jackson
Clayton McCartney
Wade King
Rohan Best
Daniel Mock
Josh Eaton

Jessica Martin (C)
Merinda Hale
Molly Ward
Marlee Wandin
Jacinta Goodger - Chandler
Kirra Cuskelly
Ebony Cuskelly
Fional Hale
Brook Nam
Hayley Chandler
Simone Burridge
Tayla Wigg
Cara Watkins


Proudly Supported By