Back to News Victorians named in CA Pathways Rookie Squad

Victorians named in CA Pathways Rookie Squad

Cricket Australia's 2017 Pathways Rookie Squad has been announced, with 15 Victorians featuring among 53 of the country's most talented male teenage cricketers.

This is the third annual intake for the program, which commenced in 2015 to help identify and nurture Australia's next generation of stars, aged between 14 and 17.

In just two years, the program has already helped develop players who now have state contracts.

This year's squad features several players who have already made a mark in Australia's underage system.
These include Victorian batsman and last year's Australia Under 16s captain, Mackenzie Harvey, West Australian fast bowler Jordan Clark, who claimed a hat-trick for Australia Under 16s against Pakistan last year, and Victorian wicket-keeper Patrick Rowe, who played for the Cricket Australia XI at last summer's Under 19 National Championships at just 15 years of age.

Victorian Selections: Mackenzie Harvey (Carlton), Mitchell Davey (Kooweerup), Lachlan Field (Geelong), Thomas Jackson (Geelong), Zane Keighran (Carlton), Todd Murphy (St Kilda), Patrick Rowe (Melbourne), Bailen Clark (Fitzroy-Doncaster), Triyan De Silva (Monash Tigers), Miles Sellenger (St Kilda), Matthew Watt (Werribee), Jakob Woinarski (Mordialloc), Campbell Griffiths (Merbein South), Jake Fraser-McGurk (Monash Tigers), Yash Pednekar (Monash Tigers)

Cricket Australia's National Talent Manager, Greg Chappell, said:

"There are plenty of talented young cricketers coming through in Australia right now.

"The Pathways Rookie Squad is an important part of the overall Pathways Program, in helping to identify these players, and to ensure we give them every opportunity at a state or national level to continue their development as cricketers and young men.

"The first two years of this program have been a success. We have seen Cameron Green go on to play in the Sheffield Shield for Western Australia, Xavier Bartlett and Jason Sangha both represent the Cricket Australia XI at Domestic One-Day Cup level, and several other players win state contracts or represent Australia Under 19s.

All players named in the squad are eligible for this year's Under 17 National Championships.

Following the championships, a select group from within the program will be named to take part in Cricket Australia's Rookie Camp in January 2018.

The camp is a four-day program at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane, designed to give players an insight into life as a professional cricketer.

Proudly Supported By